Pied À Terre


  1. Chorale (6:22)
  2. Kharábáti (4:24)
  3. Juli (5:33)
  4. Limelight Zone (9:28)
  5. To the Edge (7:02)
  6. Trekkespilleren (6:36)
  7. Trapp (1:57)
  8. Off Course (3:51)
  9. Pied à Terre (6:38)
  10. Tripp (1:08)
  11. Mol Allena (1:25)
  12. Boto (4:04)
  13. Distante (5:55)
  14. Trull (2:18)


Christian Spering, contrabass Joakim Milder, saxophone Staffan Svensson, trumpet Anders Persson, piano Magnus Gran, drums

more info

From some reviews:

“original and free of clichés is everything on this disc, one who really takes time to listen will be richly rewarded” (Jörgen Östberg, Orkester Journalen)

“.. filled with expressive beauty. In my ears one of this year’s most essential Swedish jazzrecordings.” (Johnny Olsson Nya Wermlands-Tidningen 20/12/2000)

“Christian Spering has a poetic explosive force, as a composer, arranger and instrumentalist. In one piece he goes unconstrained from the subtle lyrical to the straggling wild…”
(Ingrid Strömdahl, SVD  21/2/2001)

“Swedish jazz is like a speckled  fan with many expressions, but at every given time there’s someone at the frontline being in the centre of innovation.
Right now this centre coincide with Christian Spering’s Quintet. It doesn’t get any better than this..” (VK 24/2/2001)