Inside Bach

Christian Spering

In “Inside Bach” Christian Spering, one of Sweden’s foremost instrumentalists all categories, recaptures the Bach that was not only a master of counterpoint and the polyphonic musical form, but also an outstanding improviser. In a gentle motion between inquiring improvisation and a strong fidelity to the composer’s notation Spering opens the music to an intimate presence beyond genres and traditions and also provides a couple of longer pieces with echoes and loops which gives the polyphonic expression a new form. “Inside Bach” shows the old organist in Leipzig as at one and the same time our obvious contemporary and completely timeless.

This album was recorded in Christian’s house in january 2012.

It was released together with Elisabeth Engdahl & Thomas Gustafssons album “Piece in Peace” in two concerts in in Tyska S:ta Gertruds kyrka and Fässbergs kyrka in October 2012 in Stockholm and Gothenburg


  1. Adagio from violin Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001 (5:27)
  2. Corrente from violin Partita nr.2 D minor BWV1004 (1:35)
  3. Sarabande from Partita nr. 2 D minor BWV1004 (4:20)
  4. Elegia (9:21)
  5. Double from violin Partita No. 1 in B minor, BWV1002 (4:03)
  6. Sarabande from Cello Suite No.4 in E-flat major, BWV 1010 (3:41)
  7. Menuette/Improvisation BWV 1007b/Gigue from Cello Suite No. 1 in G major (6:23)
  8. Allemande from violin Partita No. 1 in B minor, BWV 1002 (4:57)
  9. Zona di passagio (11:07)
  10. Sarabande from violin Partita No. 1 in B minor, BWV 1002 (2:34)


Christian Spering, double bass

more info

Produced by Bengt Berger & Christian Spering. Mastered by Claes Persson, CRP. Recorded 2012 at Garaget, Vallentuna, Sweden. Photos by Viktor Gårdsäter. Cover by Lina Åberg & Jon Edergren, EBDC. Liner notes by Niklas Rådström. English translation by Fred Lane. Special thanks to Niklas Rådström, Peter Danemo, Orionteatern & Bert Levins stiftelse för jazzmusik.

Here is Sarabande from violin partita no.1 in B minor, played by Christian and filmed by Erik Vallsten:


“Christian Spering, who has stepped out of his comfort zone to record some of the most impressive music on record in this (2012) or any other year.” – Raul da Gama – full World Music Report review.

“He transforms Bach’s forms into stunning, expressive textures of deep sounds—rich in polyphonic detail—his sensitive explorations of dark timbres and reserved drama demonstrate a commanding mastery of the double bass.” -Eyal Hareuveni – full AAJ review.

“Christian Spering does not only perform the music of Bach solo and on a double bass, he also gives it a contemporary touch. The warm sound of the double bass and Christian’s stunning performance result in a very restfull and relaxing album. Nice. Very nice.” -United Mutations

In swedish:
DN, Tidningen Kulturen
Musikindustrin:  Såväl Rostropovitch som Yo-Yo Mas inspelningar av Bachs cellosviter tillhör de absolut topparna i min musiksamling. Mästerlige Christian Spering drar sig inte för att tolka delar av cellosviterna – liksom kompositioner ursprungligen skrivna för violin – på sin kontrabas. Tack! Lysande!
Lira: “Det finns en sångbarhet och enkelhet i mycket av det Bach skrivit, något som Christian Spering lyfter fram i sina tolkningar. Trots att han är ensam musikant på skivan är den ytterst omväxlande och spännande att lyssna till. Ett i sanning personligt Bach-porträtt.”