Chapter Seven Live in Chicago 1990

Bengt Berger

Digital release September 6, 2023.
Release concerts:
September 6: Fasching, Stockholm
September 7: Jazzklubben, Umeå
September 8: Victoriateatern, Malmö
Here are some photos from Umeå by Stephan Artistfoto Nord:

And a few seconds of “8 Ltd” from Fasching where Jonas Kullhammar is also in the mix:

In 1987 we did an album called Thums Up (named after a wrongly spelled Indian soft drink). The album won a Swedish Grammy in 1988 and was rereleased by Caprice Records on vinyl last November thanks to the efforts of Jonas Kullhammar. At the release the band met again after 40 years and played some of the pieces from the album. We had so much fun that we decided to do it again later this year so on September 6-8 we will play in Stockholm, Umeå and Malmö and at the same time we will release a newly found recording from our concert at the Chicago Jazz Festival in 1990.

Unfortunately Roland Keijser and Lennart Åberg from the Chicago group are no more so Fredrik Ljungqvist and Jonas Kullhammar are playing with us, this is the line-up for the release concerts: Ivo Nilsson, trombone; Thomas Gustafsson, saxophones; Fredrik Ljungqvist and Jonas Kullhammar, saxophones; Sergei Muchin and Viktor Reuter, bass; Bengt Berger and Anders Kjellberg, drums.

The brilliant Ulf Åkerhielm played one of the basses in Chicago and we hope he will join us for one or two songs on the release concert at Fasching in Stockholm on September 6.

This is the vinyl release of the original Thums Up album from 1987:


  1. Presentation (2:46)
  2. Thums Up (9:38)
  3. Babar (7:03)
  4. Eldflugan-Grusisk (5:36)
  5. Kjellberger (4:38)
  6. Kopula de Tri (7:17)
  7. Först 83 (9:13)
  8. Dagar, Djur (4:19)
  9. Interview (4:47)


Chicago Jazz Festival, Grant Park, September 2, 1990
Chapter Seven: Ivo Nilsson, trombone; Thomas Gustafsson, saxophones; Roland Keijser & Lennart Åberg, flutes and saxophones; Sergei Muchin and Ulf Åkerhielm, bass; Bengt Berger and Anders Kjellberg, drums
Mastered by Claes Persson, CRP Recordings
Graphics by Jon Edergren, Spektra Design
Original Chapter Seven vinyl artwork by Ulf Andersson/Torbjörn Zetterberg
Produced by Bengt Berger

01 Presentation 2:46
02 Thums Up 9:38 soloists: Roland Keijser, Ivo Nilsson, Thomas Gustafsson,
03 Babar  7:03 soloists Sergei Muchin, Lennart Åberg
04 Eldflugan-Grusisk 5:36 Soloist Ivo Nilsson
05 Kjellberger 4:38 Soloists Anders Kjellberg, Bengt Berger
06 Kopula de Tri 7:17 Soloist Lennart Åberg
07 Först 83 9:13 Soloists Ulf Åkerhielm, Thomas Gustafsson, Roland Keijser, Ivo Nilsson, Lennart Åberg.
08 Dagar, Djur 4:19 Soloists Lennart Åberg, Roland Keijser
09 Interview 4:47